Good day for relaxing in the sunshine!!!

Good day dear friends. The Lahontan Valley is having a lovely day today. Makes me want to dive in and plant flowers in my yard, but it never fails if I do before Memorial day I will lose all my flowers to frost. But you never know from year to year. But don’t flowers just make you smile?

It is that time of year to sign up for the Great Basin Basket CSA Program again. The deliveries of fresh produce will begin on April 24th. We will be delivering on Tuesdays or Thursdays, depending on where you are located. You can sign up for Spring, Summer, Fall or all three. There is also a Summer and Fall fruit delivery option. Each basket usually feeds 3-4 people, which may be more than you need. We will be sharing food storage ideas on the newsletter, or maybe you could share a box with friends. Then everyone will get fresh produce every week.  If you are interested, please go to Great Basin Basket CSA website to find out more.

I know it is very early in the season, but I thought I would share a produce storing chart I have found on the internet from Vegetarian times. No, I am not even close to being a vegetarian, I do like my meat but I know I need to eat more vegetables and some of those recipes looked pretty good. Anyway, back to the chart. I thought we would all benefit from receiving this chart.

REFRIGERATE THESE GAS RELEASERS:

• Apples
• Apricots
• cantaloupe
• Figs
• Honeydew

DON’T REFRIGERATE THESE GAS RELEASERS:

• Avocados
• Bananas, unripe
• Nectarines
• Peaches
• Pears
• Plums
• Tomatoes

KEEP THESE AWAY FROM ALL GAS RELEASERS:

• Bananas, ripe
• Broccoli
• Brussels sprouts
• Cabbage
• Carrots
• Cauliflower
• Cucumbers
• Eggplant
• Lettuce and other leafy greens
• Parsley
• Peas
• Peppers
• Squash
• Sweet potatoes
• Watermelon

Fastest to Slowest Spoilers: What to Eat First:

EAT FIRST:  Sunday to Tuesday

• Artichokes
• Asparagus
• Avocados
• Bananas
• Basil
• Broccoli
• Cherries
• Corn
• Dill
• Green beans
• Mushrooms
• Mustard greens
• Strawberries
• Watercress

EAT NEXT: Wednesday to Friday

• Arugula
• Cucumbers
• Eggplant
• Grapes
• Lettuce
• Lime
• Mesclun
• Pineapple
• Zucchini

EAT LAST: Weekend

• Apricots
• Bell peppers
• Blueberries
• Brussels sprouts
• Cauliflower
• Grapefruit
• Leeks
• Lemons
• Mint
• Oranges
• Oregano
• Parsley
• Peaches
• Pears
• Plums
• Spinach
• Tomatoes
• Watermelon

AND BEYOND:

• Apples
• Beets
• Cabbage
• Carrots
• Celery
• Garlic
• Onions
• Potatoes
• Winter squash

For the complete article, go to the Vegetarian Times website.

 We we here at Lattin Farms hope you are all enjoying your spring. We can’t wait to visit with you all once the farmer’s markets start-up again. I will share the schedule with you once I find out when they start. Good day!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

